Skip to content

New feminist “comic” strip: Bad BitStrip art, “slut-shaming” lectures, the usual

November 19, 2013

Who says feminists have no sense of humor?

And you’ll die laughing at this one

But Feministing thinks they’re hilarious!

Here are some samples from F’isting’s obsequious interview with the “artist”:

What inspired you to start #FeministBitStrips?

Patricia Valoy: It really was just my feminist mind spilling over everything I do. My fiance made me the avatar and created a few silly comics about our relationship. Then he asked that I try it too because it was so much fun, so I did…and not surprisingly I felt like they could all be edited to become lessons in feminism, so I did!

***

The first comic that made my feminist brain start flaring up was the one where an avatar wearing only a bra is at the water cooler and there’s a coworker looking disapprovingly. Immediately I thought “this is slut-shaming!” So I called it out, but in a hilarious way.

Patricia: I want them to be fun lessons. I think illustrations are a great way to show feminist thoughts without the seriousness in which these issues are often spoken of.

***

I think feminism is fun and life-changing, my activism doesn’t have to be serious all the time.

Actually, feminism does have to be serious all the time.

Posted by Charlotte Allen

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

