Skip to content

You’d “drift off,” too, if you got a feminist harangue when you tried to be helpful

July 8, 2014

Wouldn’t you like to strike up a conversation with Soraya Chemaly?

Last week as I sat in a cafe, a man in his 60s stopped to ask me what I was writing. I told him I was writing a book about gender and media and he said, “I went to a conference where someone talked about that a few years ago. I read a paper about it a few years ago. Did you know that car manufacturers use slightly denigrating images of women to sell cars? I’d be happy to help you.” After I suggested, smiling cheerily, that the images were beyond denigrating and definitively injurious to women’s dignity, free speech and parity in culture, he drifted off.

What’s hilarious is that this is part of an article in which Chemaly complains: “I routinely find myself in mixed-gender environments (life) where men interrupt me.”

h/t: Ann Althouse

Posted by Charlotte Allen

3 Comments
  1. Days of Broken Arrows permalink

    “Denigrating imagine of a woman:” a pic of a woman who is better looking than a feminist.

    But seriously, how can an image of a woman be “injurious to…free speech?” Is it a talking carton image telling feminists to shut up? If so, there might be a market for such a product.

  2. I hate to say this, but she has a point about women being interrupted more than men, and men being the interrupters, at least in my experience. I do think that socialization builds on nature, though. I went to a women’s college, and frankly, the discussions lacked the dynamism and the verve that the classes at the men’s college did. The women, however, were less likely to come to class high or hungover, and were more likely to have done the reading and the homework.

  3. I shall always cherish in memory the time I got chastised by a pair of academic feminists during a talk at my wife’s college for using the word “murderess” to describe a woman in my book “Widow’s Web” convicted of killing her husband and her defense lawyer’s wife.

    I said, “Well, it’s not exactly an honorific.”

    Nobody laughed.

Leave a Reply

