Skip to content

Perv asks dad why he’s taking photos of his daughters; wimpy dad feels “upset,” walks away

September 1, 2014

How about telling the guy that the next time he catches him talking to his daughters, he gets a fat lip?:

Totally engaged with the scene in front of me, I jumped when a man came up beside me and said to my daughters: “I would be remiss if I didn’t ask if you were okay.”

At first none of us understood what he was talking about. His polite tone and tourist attire of shorts, polo shirt and baseball cap threw us off. It took me a moment to figure out what he meant, but then it hit me: He thought I might be exploiting the girls, taking questionable photos for one of those “Exotic Beauties Want to Meet You!” Web sites or something just as unseemly.

***

As I was telling my wife what had happened, I saw the man again, scanning the horizon with his binoculars. The more I thought about what he had said, the more upset I became. My wife and I, both white, adopted our two daughters in China when they were infants. Over the years, as a transracial family, we have often gotten strange looks and intrusive questions from strangers, but nothing like this. Yet part of me understood what he was seeing: Here was this middle-aged white guy taking lots of pictures of two beautiful, young Asian women.

***

I walked outside to where he was standing and calmly said: “Excuse me, sir, but you just embarrassed me in front of my children and strangers. And what you said was racist.”

The man didn’t seem at all fazed. He replied: “I work for the Department of Homeland Security. And let me give you some advice: You were standing there taking photos of them hugging for 15 minutes.”

***

He agreed to consider everything I had said. But he didn’t sound very sincere. When I had questions about his observations, he deflected them, hoping to manage my reaction with simple apologies, except they weren’t simple at all: He apologized; he criticized; and he apologized again.

There was nothing more I could say, nor did I need to hear any more explanations from him. I thought about asking for his business card or his name, but instead I just walked away, feeling exposed.

Gee, let’s see what’s wrong with this picture, so to speak:

First of all, do you believe for one minute that the guy with the binoculars snooping around this dad’s gorgeous teen daughters actually worked for the DHS? If so, I’ve got a bridge in Brooklyn….

Second, the dad doesn’t even ask to see the guy’s badge or ID! I sure would, if some stranger accused me of being a perv and claimed to work for law enforcement. He doesn’t even ask for the guy’s name!

Third, guess what: Even if the girls were total strangers, it’s not a crime to take other people’s pictures if you have their permission, and the fact that the girls were posing for the photos suggested that they’d given it.

Fourth, wimpo dad, instead of suggesting to this sex-obsessed busybody creep in the baseball cap that he might be showing up for work at the DHS with a shiner if he ever caught him within 10 feet of his daughters again, gets “upset.”

Oh, and he also says “racist.” He walks away “feeling exposed.”

How manly.

Whatever happened to dads who actually tried to protect their daughters from perverts instead of whining to the Washington Post?

Posted by Charlotte Allen

2 Comments
  1. PatrickH permalink

    That’s the thing about this story. This guy pretends to be protecting girls from a pervert, and the father buys into the pretense, thereby failing miserably to…protect girls from a pervert.

  2. Lastango permalink

    “Whatever happened to dads who actually tried to protect their daughters from perverts instead of whining to the Washington Post?”

    Much as I hate to say it (I’m all for kicking the bastard’s teeth in), dad did the right thing.

    The SOB was trying to provoke him into an incident — verbal or physical — in which the dad could be arrested. There is a 100% certainty the intruder took his own photos in order to assist with identification if the father became confrontational. The only person who could lose here was dad — and the intruder knew it.

    Dad was deliberately put in a position where he was humiliated in front of his family. If I met him, I’d give him advice much like what I once gave to a colleague who was physically intimidated by a roller-blading piece of street garbage on a downtown sidewalk: “Try to picture that guy 5 or 10 years from now. He’s dead, isn’t he?”

    So similarly, the bastard who cheapshoted this father is in all probability a very unhappy soul, and headed for worse. The chances there will be a loving family around him in his future is zero. After that stunt on the ferry he will crawl back up his own asshole to rot in his own hell.

    If dad can get his head around that picture he will be able to recover his dignity and stand tall in his own eyes as he contemplates the successful life he has built for himself.

    One other comment for dad: If you’re looking for a fair hearing for your story about dealing with a presumptuous, officious, abusive government-employed creep, don’t write it up at WaPo… all their readers are government-dependent pukes too.

Leave a Reply

