Skip to content

“I’m a free-lance writer, so please chip in for the $362 Uber bill I racked up while drunk”

November 4, 2014

“Plus, I’m a 26-year-old blonde with cute hippie flowers in my hair”

 
Uber Stole My 26th Birthday
Last night was Halloween. Great time. Today is my 26th birthday. Not so great time. I live in Baltimore and went out with my friends to celebrate my birthday at midnight. When 3 AM rolled around, I suggested we take an Uber hole to avoid drunk driving (#responsibility/#MADD).  I live 22 minutes , tops, from the party I was leaving.
When I awoke this morning, I heard a friend talking about how outrageous Uber rates were the night before (9x original rate). I checked my bank account to, unbeknownst to me, I see a charge for $362. Not only is it my 26th birthday, it is rent day. My rent is $450 and I can no longer pay it today due to this completely outrageous charge.
I have had little to no luck in disputing this transaction.
I waitress at two restaurants and freelance for a City Paper. I worked incredibly hard this week to be able to enjoy my birthday this weekend. This misunderstanding has cost me 80% of the funds I have to my name (embarrassingly so) and I spent a good two hours of my birthday crying over it. I feel taken advantage of and cheated by the Uber name. $367 for a 20 minute ride should never be justified, even on Halloween.
Please donate even just $1 if you think this is utter and complete bullshit and also hilarious and very, very depressing at the same time.
But as Uber pointed out in an e-mail to news outlets that covered the story, Uber not only shows its “surge price” for busy nights on its app, but customers are obliged to type in the surge price rating to confirm it. That might have been why she had “little to no luck” disputing the price.
The good news: The GoFundMe bleeding hearts coughed up more than $570 for her–enough to pay for another birthday bash–within hours of her plea.
The bad news: It’s all, somehow, mean old Uber’s fault:
I understand how surge pricing works, and I understand I agreed to the charge—and requested Uber Black, which is more expensive than the UberX I would have normally requested, since it was the only one available—but, dead sober or not, I know I wasn’t the only person who felt outraged that a company they trusted, and probably had good experiences with up to this point, would ask their users to agree to something as outlandish as $362 for a 20-minute ride. While Uber says that the surge prices are to encourage drivers to meet demand, as a consumer it feels like Uber took advantage of a holiday, knowing they would be a last resort for a lot of people trying to avoid driving, in Baltimore and elsewhere.
Sorry, but Uber is a business, not a hippie commune. Meanwhile, I’m wondering whether I could get some GoFundMe open wallets to chip in for the $50,000 I need to upgrade my kitchen.
Posted by Charlotte Allen
From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Lastango permalink

    I’ve got some sad news for you, Gabby. You may have panhandled some pocket change with this stunt, but you are not hawt enough to make YOLO work as a lifestyle. You are visibly heading for The Wall in one hell of a hurry. People are not going to do things for you. You are not special enough for that.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. $362 Uber Fare While Drunk: Think Of It As A Behaving-Like-A-Dipshit Fine | Bydio

Leave a Reply

