Skip to content

Chrissie Hynde trashed for saying women should use “common sense” to avoid rape

September 1, 2015

My latest blog post for the Independent Women’s Forum:

Hynde-sight: It’s not a good idea to get drunk and flirt with motorcycle-gang members

If I’m walking around in my underwear and I’m drunk? Who else’s fault can it be?” Hynde wrote. “If I’m walking around and I’m very modestly dressed and I’m keeping to myself and someone attacks me, then I’d say that’s his fault. But if I’m being very lairy and putting it about and being provocative, then you are enticing someone who’s already unhinged — don’t do that. Come on! That’s just common sense. You know, if you don’t want to entice a rapist, don’t wear high heels so you can’t run from him.”

Oh my! The tweets ranged from:

“Lost ALL respect for Chrissie Hynde!! NO WOMAN asks to be raped, nor deserves to be, no woman asks for it!”

and:

“Like saying you deserve to be mugged for carrying money.”

to:

“Chrissie Hynde’s comments just make me feel incredibly sad for the young woman she was, who even she can’t hear.”

and:

“Many people seem furious with Chrissie Hynde, and I get why, but I feel pity for her.”

Posted by Charlotte Allen

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Common sense is so last century; it’s just slut-shaming and victim-blaming. I always advise young women never to lock their cars or the doors to their houses/apartments, keep all their money in their mattresses instead of in the bank, and demand the abolition of the local police force. If we just teach rapists not to rape, murderers not to murder, burglars not to burgle, thieves not to steal, and muggers not to mug, that will take care of the problem.

Leave a Reply

