Skip to content

Topping the “gum” lockdown: Prof won’t learn self-defense because that’s part of “gun culture”

October 16, 2015

From my latest blog post for the Independent Women’s Forum:

You mean he said “gum,” not “gun”?

The massive gun freakout at Lehman High was nothing, though compared to the massive–and still ongoing–gun freakout among college professors around the country.

Here’s Linda Van Ingen, history prof at the University of Nebraska-Kearney  saying she’d rather not learn how to defend herself and her students from a campus shooting because that would be participating in “gun culture”:

“We have an ‘active shooter’ defense training class coming up, and I am just not interested. I resent how the burden of gun violence is being placed on educators. I feel like I’m being pushed into a gun culture that I want no part of.

“Viewing dramatic video of an active-shooter scenario on my campus is disturbing. How should I respond when someone opens fire in my building? I’m told that if we can’t flee to safety, I should shove the furniture against the door of my classroom, silence all cellphones, and hope the perpetrator will move on. If the active shooter enters the classroom, I should have a strategy in place: signal a student to throw something against the wall to distract the shooter while another student or two — or perhaps me — tackles the perpetrator. This is the preparedness drill of run, hide, or fight. It all seems absurd.

“Gun advocates have little more to offer. They think my carrying a concealed weapon or allowing my students to arm themselves would secure our safety. But I view this gun culture as another world, wholly unlike my own. As a historian, I am well aware of the violent horrors of the past, but my work is very cerebral. I wouldn’t know what to do with a gun as I go about my day, and the idea of learning to shoot someone is abhorrent to me”

Shorter Van Ingen: I’d rather be shot dead with a gun than learn how to defend myself from one.

Read the whole thing here.

Posted by Charlotte Allen
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

