Skip to content

Maoism lives! Female reporter forced to recant description of other female reporter as “petite”

March 17, 2016

From my latest blog post for the Independent Women’s Forum:

China 1969: Bully the offender until she confesses

Here is what Schultz (by her own account) wrote:

“Sarah Karp is a petite woman with a brown-bob hair cut and a smile that doesn’t end. But just try to stand in the way of Karp and a document, or a database, or a report or anything she may need for the story she is covering.”

***

So here’s what happened next, according to Schultz:

“I received one note telling me how Sarah’s award was diminished by the ‘sexism’ in my writing. I was then told that several people had complained to this editor and one even called my lede ‘disgusting.’

***

“…I took my question to the listserv of JAWS, Journalism and Women’s Symposium, a national group of women journalists and some of the finest wordsmiths I know.

“We had an excellent discussion in which I was called out for a very bad opener in the profile. Agreed. My apologies.”

Read the whole thing here.

Posted by Charlotte Allen
From → media, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

