Skip to content

Melissa Click: Mizzou fired me because I’m not perfect–although I’m great in every other way

March 18, 2016

From my latest blog post for the Independent Women’s Forum:

Click: Other than that “muscle” stuff, I’m the bestest

The latest salvo from the University of Missouri’s soon-to-be-former “muscle” professor is this doozy she wrote for the Washington Post. Its theme: Why are you meanies picking on me just because I tried to obstruct a cop and called for someone to beat up a reporter?

“Among the debates and judgments the video footage of my mistakes has attracted, few have sincerely grappled with the sudden choices I had to make in challenging circumstances, and fewer still have earnestly asked whether my protected right to speak out as a US citizen requires that I must be perfect while doing so….

“I do not understand the widespread impulse to shame those whose best intentions unfortunately result in imperfect actions. What would our world be like if no one ever took a chance? What if everyone played it safe?…

“[T]he Curators’ actions — and the nationwide public outcry over these few recorded moments of my actions — wholly disregard the overwhelming evidence of my outstanding contributions to MU: student evaluations, teaching awards, research and publications, service to professional organizations, and a solid case for tenure.

“While I continue to fight the MU Board of Curators’ decision to terminate my employment without due process and in violation of university policy, I am also working to come to terms with how a few captured moments of imperfection could eclipse 12 years of excellence.”

Read the whole thing here.

Posted by Charlotte Allen
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

