Skip to content

Melissa Click’s alternate universe: Says Mizzou fired her because she’s a “white lady”

April 26, 2016

My latest blog post for the Independent Women’s Forum:

Click: It’s my pity party and I’ll cry if I want to.

There’s reality, and there’s Melissa Click reality.

The fired University of Missouri communications professor,  in an excusive interview with the Chronicle of Higher Education, is now her very own revisionist historian. Here goes:

Reality:

Mizzou’s Board of Curators voted on Feb. 25 to can Click because “was not entitled to interfere with the rights of others, to confront members of law enforcement or to encourage potential physical intimidation against a student” (the quote is from the board’s official statement).

Melissa Click reality:

“Under pressure from state legislators, she says, Missouri’s Board of Curators fired her to send a message that the university and the state wouldn’t tolerate black people standing up to white people. ‘This is all about racial politics,’ she says. ‘I’m a white lady. I’m an easy target.’

Read the whole thing here.

Posted by Charlotte Allen
One Comment
  1. Lastango permalink

    I hope Mz. Click will excuse my ignorance… it had never occurred to me she might be a lady.

Leave a Reply

